Live Cricket Online
Rupavahini State Awards ceremony

Creations should suit the modern trends in the field of arts, Culture and Arts Minister T B Ekanayake said.

The government is keen to get creative artistes to convey strong messages to society through their creative talents.

Awards ceremonies are held to motivate them to produce quality creations, the minister said.

Minister Ekanayake was addressing the 8th Rupavahini State Awards Ceremony 2011 /2012 at the Bandaranaike Memorial International Conference Hall on Tuesday.

The ceremony was held under the patronage of First Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa.

The Rupavahini Awards Ceremony was organised by the Cultural Affairs Department under the guidance of the Culture and the Arts Ministry.

The minister said awards ceremonies are held to develop and uplift the quality of television productions and to appreciate artistes and producers.

Programmes and productions telecast up to December 31, 2012 on all television channels were placed into 42 categories before the winners were selected.

Three lifetime achievement awards were presented to veteran artistes Arun Dias Bandaranaike, Piyadasa Ratnasingha and Rukmin Wijemanna for their service in the field of television production.

Volume six of Rupavahini Samiksha was also launched at the event. It was presented to first Lady Shiranthi Rajapaksa by Culture and the Arts Minister T B Ekanayake.

The best actress and best actor of 2011 were Malkanthi Jayasinghe (Yasa Isuru) National Rupavahini and Pradeep Dharmadasa (Ayaal) - Independent Television Network.

Janak Premalal was awarded the best actor for 2012 for his role in Swayanjaatha (National Rupavahini) and Chathurika Peiris was adjudged the best actress for 2012, for her role in Swayanjaatha - National Rupavahini. R E R Jayasri Ruwanpura was awarded the best Pre - Publicity Film - Mulpituwa - Swaranawahini.